First steps around Kathmandu

So, I’ve arrived and am staying temporarily in a guest house in the Patan/Lalitpur district of town. The VSO ‘in country induction’ training starts in earnest on Monday and until then I have time to relax and get accustomed to the delights of Kathmandu. Temperatures have generally run at 30C going down only to 26-27C at night so I’m finding even a gentle stroll pretty warm. It’s also taken me a couple of days to pluck up my courage and start taking some photos out and about. I’m out of the habit of being so obviously foreign! I’ve not yet got my nerve up to ask the great variety of local people if they would mind being photographed so for now it’s inanimate objects only…

To set the scene, right now I am writing from the shaded front balcony of the guest house, 29C at 5pm but with a pleasant breeze. Black storm clouds gathering in the distance. Black kites (first new bird spotted) circling overhead, the brightly coloured buildings of the school opposite caught by the low evening sun.

#1 The view from the back facing balcony at the guest house. Just to give an idea of the local cityscape;

2014-07-30 12.35.11

#2 Out into the streets, wandering somewhat aimlessly just trying to take it all in. On many of the streets and cross roads there are places to burn incense and small temples of various shapes and sizes. Sadly I do not yet know the significance of the different types but I shall endeavour to become less ignorant soon! (& share any new found wisdom when the time comes…)

2014-07-31 15.28.31 (2)

#3 Another sight which caught my eye, and I have seen a few times on my neighbourhood strolls, are small fields of crops in between the houses. Here you can see aim example of crops growing in abundance right in the heart of the city.

2014-07-31 15.54.14

#4 Another classic sight; the somewhat miraculous electricity delivery system for the times when there is electricity to supply. As mentioned before Nepal is constantly subject to load-shedding (power cuts). Hence the need for a rural and renewable energy programme.

2014-07-31 15.58.20

#5 After the ‘in country induction’ training next week I will be launching into an intensive Nepali course. Judging by this kind of local poster – I’m going to need all the training I can get!? What a beautiful, yet currently indecipherable, language. I can’t wait!

2014-07-31 15.33.57

#6 Last but not least for this post, I have been continuing my lifelong collection of graffiti and street art photos. Just around the corner from my current home is a long section of wall with some beautiful graffiti art running along it. Given my current plans, I thought this was one was rather poignant and worth sharing;

2014-07-31 15.30.58 (2)

2 comments

  1. Emily

    Amazing pics, lokks fab. Really like the graffiti, how true!

  2. Sash

    Finally got to check out the blog, looks amazing, am green with envy!
    The poster is an ad for a ‘fashion designing course’, if you decide on a sudden change of career 😀

Leave a Reply

